What are the different Doctypes?

What are the different Doctypes?

Doctypes and markup styles

  • The HTML5 doctype.
  • The HTML 4.01 strict doctype.
  • The HTML 4.01 transitional doctype.
  • The XML 1.0 strict and transitional doctypes.
  • The HTML 4.01 and XML 1.0 frameset doctypes.
  • Other doctypes.
  • HTML versus XHTML syntax.
  • Serving “real” XML.

What are declarations in HTML?

Definition and Usage The declaration is not an HTML tag. It is an “information” to the browser about what document type to expect. In HTML 5, the declaration is simple:

What is the major difference between transitional and strict DOCTYPE?

The names reveal what they are about: Transitional DOCTYPEs are meant for those making the transition from older markup to modern ways. Strict DOCTYPEs are actually the default – the way HTML 4.01 and XHTML 1.0 were constructed to be used.

Which HTML5 DOCTYPE declarations are correct?

All browsers actually nee “html” part from doctype declaration to jump into standards mode. Learning Resource: The start tag is optional in HTML5, as in HTML 4.01.

What is

The HTML document type declaration, also known as DOCTYPE , is the first line of code required in every HTML or XHTML document. The DOCTYPE declaration is an instruction to the web browser about what version of HTML the page is written in. A DTD defines the structure and the legal elements of an XML document.

Why DOCTYPE tag is used in HTML?

DOCTYPE> tag is the very first line in the HTML document. It tells the browser what version of HTML the document is written so that the browser knows what to expect. This tag is also commonly referred to as the


While not actually an HTML element itself, every HTML document should being with a DOCTYPE declaration to be compliant with HTML standards. This element must not contain any content, and does not need a closing tag.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top